Cambridge IGCSE (Classes 9 and 10)

Cambridge IGCSE (Classes 9 and 10)

The curriculum framework followed from grades 6 to 8 prepares our students for the IGCSE programme which is a two-year programme offered in Grade 9 and 10. In the two-year IGCSE programme, students study a range of subjects and develop their skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem-solving. Students in grades 9 and 10 will normally select 8 subjects.

The Cambridge IGCSE curriculum offers a variety of routes for learners with a wide range of abilities, including those whose first language is not English. The fundamental approach is to encourage learners to engage with a variety of subjects and make connections between them. Cambridge IGCSE helps improve performance by developing skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem-solving. It is the perfect springboard for advanced study. The syllabi are international in outlook but retain a local relevance. They have been created specifically for an international student body and avoid cultural bias. Considering differing abilities, there is a choice between Core and Extended curriculum papers in some subjects. Over 70 subjects are available, including more than 30 language courses, offering a variety of routes for learners of different abilities. Schools can offer any combination of subjects. Each subject is certificated separately which allows schools and students to personalise their learning experience.

Subjects offered at Prometheus School in IGCSE Program

S.No.Subject Name Subject Code
1English Language and Literature0500
2Literature in English0475
4Additional Mathematics0606
8Hindi as Second Language0549
9Global Perspective0457
10Computer Science0478
11Art and Design0400
14Business Studies0450

Cambridge International Certificate Examination (ICE)

The Cambridge ICE certificate is a group award designed for schools that want to offer a broad curriculum. Students enter and sit for a minimum of seven subjects selected from the five IGCSE curriculum areas:
• Group 1 – Languages
• Group 2 – Humanities
• Group 3 – Sciences
• Group 4 – Mathematics
• Group 5 – Creative and Vocational

Award Criteria

Cambridge ICE is awarded to students who pass in at least seven Cambridge IGCSE subjects, including two from Group 1 and one from Groups 2 to 5.
The seventh subject may be chosen from any of the syllabus Groups. Students who qualify for the Cambridge ICE award will be placed in one of three categories:
• Distinction – Grade A or better in five subjects and grade C or better in two subjects.
• Merit – Grade C or better in five subjects and Grade F or better in two subjects.